The Stanton County Board of Commissioners met in regular session January 22, 2024. Present were Commissioners Lonnie Brown, Chris Floyd and John Smith, County Attorney Clint Floyd, and Deputy County Clerk Amber Wilkerson. Chairman Brown called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Minutes of January 8th were read and approved.

Vouchers were approved and paid as follows:

General	\$ 176,023.57
Road & Bridge	39,457.41
Airport	8,204.00
Library Emp Benefits	33,493.84
Golf Course	5,201.00
Park/Pool	4,939.00
4-H Bldg.	2,135.00
Extension Council	97,728.56
Mental Health	5,000.00
Noxious Weed	2,652.00
Library	150,328.95
Fire & Rescue	38,908.38
Hospital	87,293.43
Dev. Disable	5,000.00
LEC E911	575.44
Totals	\$ 656,940.58

NextEra Energy Resources Project Manager, John Felitto, and legal team David Bracht and Rich Olmstead updated the Board on progress of the potential wind energy project in Stanton County. Mr. Felitto has express there's considerable landowner interest in Stanton County. 20,000 acres in land leases have been signed out of the 80,000 acres needed to secure 2 project sites in Stanton County. One site in the Southern part of the County and the other Northwest of Johnson. Projected construction dates are late 2026 through 2027 going online in 2029. There was extensive conversation to make sure the County had a clear understanding on the next steps towards development including various permits, agreements, and payments. The County will require NextEra to secure Solar Decommissioning Bonds before the project begins. These bonds are a financial guarantee that relieves the burden from the landowners and taxpayers and puts the responsibility on NextEra to return the land back to its natural state once the project is completed. NextEra legal council will provide County Attorney, Clint Floyd, with all agreements by the end of the week. The NextEra team will meet with the Commissioners as needed.

Road Supervisor Troy Brickman met with the Board to provide an update for his department. Electrical wiring to the equipment building will start when the temperatures improve. Troy inquired about the winter weather policy & procedure and pay for the road department. Currently there is no winter weather policy & procedure manual strictly pertaining to the road department. Chaiman Brown explained to Troy that Troy Brickman, Ty Shoemake, Jon Shoemaker, and Ryan Swisher were paid an additional 8 hours for their afterhours work during the January 8th & 9th winter storm.

Health Nurse Ruth Walker met with the Board to discuss December and EOY financials for the health department. Mrs. Walker provided the Board with a spreadsheet of various grant funds received in 2023 totaling \$277,754.98. Currently, the Health Department is showing a \$28,000 loss for 2023. A settlement amount will be reached to make up any deficiencies after the Health Department audit is completed and WIC payments for October, November and December are received in for 2023 revenue.

Hospital CEO Camille Davidson met with the Board to discuss Hospital EOY financials. Balance sheets or income statements for the Hospital/LTCU have not been provided since August 2023. Camille explained the CFO has been out for personal reasons and just returned. The cost report will be shared after the hospital audit is done in February.

Library Director, Heather Polzin met with the Board to update them on the programs and after school activities offered by the library. Heather accepted the Library Director position in July 2023 after the resignation of Librarian, Mary Cooper. The Board congratulated Heather on her promotion.

Sheriff Clayton Kester presented bids to the Board for roof repairs at the LEC. Chambless Roofing - \$108,945.00 for TPO roofing system and Stanfield Roofing - \$128,969.57 for Ultra Ply TPO roofing, 24-guage metal, parapet wall wrapping, 2-yr Labor & workmanship and 20-yr material warranty and twice a year inspection. A replacement cost coverage check will be issued to the County by KCAMP for \$47,032.07. Commissioner Smith moved to approve the Stanfield Roofing bid for \$128,969.57 for roof replacement and repairs at the Sheriff's Department, Commissioner Floyd seconded. Motion carried. 3-0.

Vacated Hospital Trustee position #3 was discussed with and accepted by Eliana Tarin. Commissioner Floyd moved to appoint Eliana Tarin to fulfill the remainder of the open position, seconded by Commissioner Smith. Motion carried 3-0.

Stanton County Public Library Board submitted minutes of their December 20th Board meeting.

Various Tax Roll Orders: 2023-58 - 2023 -61 Abate 1,346.82 in value and 526.01 in tax.

APPOINTMENTS MADE AT REORGANIZATION MEETING---January 22, 2024

Chairman of the Board –Lonnie M Brown
Official Depository - Johnson State Bank and
Dream First Bank

Official Paper - Johnson Pioneer

Purchasing Agent, Courthouse –Sandy Barton

Road and Bridge – Troy Brickman

Law Enforcement Center – Clayton Kester

Weed Director - Alan Stevenson

County Health Medical Director - William R. Troup, M.D.

Emergency Response Officer - Roger L. Richardson

Emergency Management - Vaughn J. Lorenson

Cimarron Basin Community Corrections – Cole Edmisson

Juvenile Justice Authority – Gary Barton

County Appraiser – Cynthia Wellbrock

Southwest Developmental Services -

Emergency Medical Services - Roger L. Richardson

Fire Chief – Jon Shoemaker

Medical Advisor to EMS - William Troup, MD

Infectious Control -

Silver Haired Legislature -

Airport Board (three-year term) 27-330

Bret Kendrick January 2026
Dan Senestraro January 2025
Kendall Herrick January 2026
Wylie Martin January 2027
T J Wilkerson January 2025

Golf Course Board (three-year term) 19-2802

Curtis Houser	January 2027
Marty Cook	January 2025
Clint Floyd	January 2027
Tara Barnhardt	January 2025
Curtis Schweizer	January 2026

Historical Society Board (three-year term)

Carrie Tarin	February 2026
Kaye Sipes	February 2027
Jim Banning	February 2027
Bryan Ellis	February 2025
Steve Shepard	February 2025
Diana Daniels	February 2025
Pam Cook	February 2026

Park Board (three-year term) 19-2802

Rollie Tarin	January 2027
Bryan Ellis	January 2025
Blake Rollins	January 2026

Senior Services Board (three-year term) 19-2802

Linda Wilkerson	January 2027
Mary Olivas	January 2027
Mike Horton	January 2026
Marcela McElroy	January 2027
Randy Morris	January 2025

4-H Building Board (three-year term) 19-1561

Member Appointee	Lori Overturf	January 2027
Extension Appointee	Shelia Walker	January 2025
County Appointee	Doug Daniels	January 2026

Clinic Board (three-year term) 73-407

Veteran	Ward Nairn	January 2027
Civilian	Bill Seyb	January 2025
Veteran	Jan Burger	January 2026

Community Foundation

County Appointee	Michael Williamson
County Appointee	David Walker
County Appointee	Lettie McKinney
Above Appointee	Amber Wilkerson
Above Appointee	Linda Steimel

Extension Board (1 year term)

Clay Edgar
Jennifer Floyd
Glenda Shepard
Sarah A Martin
Diana Daniels
Clint Floyd
Sheila Walker
T J McClure
Stephanie Dickson

Hospital Board (four-year term) 19-1803 elected

Gary Kendrick November 2026
Eliana Tarin November 2025
Douglas L. Daniels November 2025
Robyn Kempke November 2026
Joel Nicholas November 2027

Library Board (four-year term-two terms)

Nora Martinez March 2027
Linda Nicholas March 2027
Mary Canny March 2028
Sophia Regaldo March 2025
Katie Herrick March 2026

Mental Health Board (two-year term)

Vacant January 2025 Vacant January 2026

Southwest Area Agency on Aging (three-year term)

Glenda Shepard September 2025
Darrell Ruth September 2027
Vacant September 2026

Cemetery Board

Jerry Tedder, Bryan Ellis, Bill Seyb, Linda Steimel, Loren Lucas

There being no further business to come before the Board, Chairman Brown adjourned the meeting at 11:50 a.m.

ATTEST: SIGN:

Amber Wilkerson Lonnie Brown Deputy County Clerk Chairman